Thursday, October 23, 2014

Lawyers meet with Zhang Shaojie, consider appeal

Zhang Shaojie
(Photo courtesy of Zhang
family)
China Aid Association

(Puyang, Henan—Oct. 22, 2014) Former Nanle County Christian Church Pastor Zhang Shaojie was allowed to meet with his lawyers on Monday after suddenly being transferred from Baitiaohe Prison in Neihuang County, Puyang, to Henan Prison No. 2 in Xinxiang last week. The meeting was the first that has been allowed since before his final appeal hearing on Aug. 21.

Zhang Shaojie’s youngest daughter, Zhang “Shanshan” Linxin, told China Aid that the meeting almost didn’t happen. “When [the lawyers] went [to the prison], they called the management section of the prison from the gate. A section chief received the call and asked whose lawyer the caller was,” Shanshan said.

The Washington Institute: From Beijing to Hong Kong — Twenty-Five Years of Protest

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Zhejiang demolitions: Cross destruction continues in Hangzhou, Wenzhou

Monday, October 20, 2014

Guest post: Taking the Lord’s Name in Vain

Thursday, October 16, 2014

Zhejiang authorities take advantage of Christians leaving for harvest to demolish church's cross

ITV: Special interview: one of China's most wanted men

Monday, October 13, 2014

UPDATED: China Aid hosts press conference with families of prisoners of conscience, US Congressmen

Thursday, October 9, 2014

Zhejiang church facing demolition after two months of guarding; other churches persecuted

Monday, October 6, 2014

Foreign Policy: Hong Kong's Religious Revolutionaries

Group of bipartisan Senators write letter to Obama, calling for efforts to relocate Gao Zhisheng

Thursday, October 2, 2014

Henan government held election to replace imprisoned pastor, allowed no votes

Monday, September 29, 2014

32 Congressmen call for release of Henan pastor sentenced to 12-year prison term

Guangdong churches raided, 6 believers detained

Townhall: Addressing the Disastrous Consequences of China’s One-Child Policy

Thursday, September 25, 2014

Hunan Christians' accounts unfrozen

China: USCIRF Condemns Harsh Sentence for Ilham Tohti

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Zhejiang demolitions: More crosses demolished, Christians detained

RFA: Xinjiang Court Sentences Uyghur Scholar to Life in Prison

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Washington press conference prompts letters to Obama from organizations, individuals

Thursday, September 18, 2014

WATCH: the CNN report that China doesn't want you to see

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Anhui government shuts down church-run school

CNN: Christians in eastern China scramble to save symbol of their faith

Monday, September 15, 2014

China Change: Press Statement by Wife of Gao Zhisheng, on 9/8/2014

The Diplomat: A Major Setback to the Rule of Law in China

Loading

Subscribe to ChinaAid News

Our Facebook Page CAA Twitter Favorite Bookmark